meander through my mind.

3000 views, 150 followers, or as i prefer to call you; Readers.
i guess i should say thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ so thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
people blog for many reasons i’ve noticed. whether to express their wordplay or paint or fashion sense or jus to get things off their chest.
me?
i needed somewhere to compile my previously written poetry. it’s in notepads, memory sticks, floppy discs (remember them?), postit notes, envelopes, memory files etc.
a few days in and i was noticed by HelenValentina (check her out) who gave me my first award and the inclination to stick around a bit ๐Ÿ™‚
i only ever meant to release poetry but as i searched the cupboards i started sharing thoughts in a bloggy way. i even started writing fresh poetry :).
i guess i get a bit insecure sometimes and feel the need to share whatever song i’m listening to as usually they matter to me and my history, or they explain in a way that i never could.
music and books have always been my release.
if you can’t be a rock n roll star, you may aswell be an unnoticed wordsmith i suppose.
good music is like poetry told by angels, even the rough stuff.
especially music that’s older than myself as it seems to have been around for ever.
and therefore closer to the gods.
Pink Floyd were the first band to knock me sideways. not dark side of the moon, my parents had that.
PinkFloyd in Pompeii. They played in an empty ampi-theatre, the acoustics are heavenly.
an orchestra couldn’t compete in scope and sound.
i felt like i was in space looking down on the ancients of Italy.
Echoes, a Saucerful of Secrets, Set The controls etc

Pink Floyd, Hawkwind, Black Sabbath, the Doors, Iron Maiden have influenced my poetry, so have the novelists Enid Blyton, JRR Tolkien and William Blake.
The first poem i ever read was probably the Jabberwocky.
The first Haiku i ever read is a book of Haiku by Basho and another guy.
it is the only style where i am strict with myself.
it must be 5-7-5 ๐Ÿ™‚
otherwise, all my other stuff, well, it does as it wants to ๐Ÿ™‚

23 thoughts on “meander through my mind.”

  1. I used to love Spike Milligan and John Hegley’s poetry (usually about his glasses) when I was younger, and later John Cooper Clarke, but at school we did the war poet Wilfred Owen who I was amazing too….

    1. i’ve heard of Spike, my grandad loved him n i love his humour, i haven’t heard of the others, ye i read Jabberwocky in school, then found out you can’t write essays on any old book, what’s wrong with Roahld Dahl, for instance?! ๐Ÿ™‚
      after that i rarely went n jus read the books i wanted to ๐Ÿ™‚
      which is a shame because i could have read Of Mice And Men years earlier ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. My favourite book at school was A Kestrel for a Knave which was later made into the movie ‘Kes’ which unlike Shakespeare was something us working class northerners could understand and relate to, as it very much reflected our day to day life. Cracking book and movie, both made me cry ๐Ÿ™‚

        1. ah yes we watched and read that before i started skiving,
          he skives school, nicking milk off the milk cart n gets himself a peregrine falcon ๐Ÿ™‚
          ye i liked that ๐Ÿ™‚ i felt an affinity with him though i’m from Anglia ๐Ÿ™‚

        1. cool, Spike made me laugh hard at the radio when he said someone stopped him n asked him for the time;
          “sure i said as i reached into my pocket.
          i wrote it down earlier incase i needed it again.”

          1. My uncle used to read this to us when we were kids:

            On the Ning Nang Nong

            On the Ning Nang Nong
            Where the Cows go Bong!
            and the monkeys all say BOO!
            There’s a Nong Nang Ning
            Where the trees go Ping!
            And the tea pots jibber jabber joo.
            On the Nong Ning Nang
            All the mice go Clang
            And you just can’t catch ’em when they do!
            So its Ning Nang Nong
            Cows go Bong!
            Nong Nang Ning
            Trees go ping
            Nong Ning Nang
            The mice go Clang
            What a noisy place to belong
            is the Ning Nang Ning Nang Nong!

  2. I don’t like to call them “followers” either. It sounds like I am leading people lol. I also love HelenValentina http://wordpress.com/#!/read/blog/id/45163378/ as well. I am glad we found each others blogs you are a very interesting person, engaging and personable and so is your poetry. I agree that music is like poetry and a great release. When you find an interesting person who knows how to express their feelings, usually they like music! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. hehehe i don’t mind being a leader but the best leaders learnt by following first ๐Ÿ™‚
      i keep meaning to change the ‘follower’ button to ‘reader’ if you know what i mean.
      Helen’s links are dotted around this blog, am too stoned to create another ๐Ÿ˜‰
      the best music is poetic, even if its an instrumental, kind of like this pink floyd pompeii, it’s 3/4instrumental, but the music backs up the powerful lyrics
      “…i am you and what i see is me.”
      the best music sends shivers and squeezes tears of wonder ๐Ÿ™‚

            1. my mum’s an each to their own ๐Ÿ™‚
              she doesn’t get all spiritual like me tho.
              am trying to get her to write her poetry/memoirs, but like most people she thinks that no one would read it.

    1. ye Hawkwind are a bit hit and miss for me, i didnโ€™t like their Silver Machine but loved their In Search Of Space album, esp Children of the Sun, itโ€™s pinkfloydy lol
      and Black Sabbathโ€™s Solitude, which is Ozzy wrote to prove he could sing lol.
      i posted some pics of my countryside yesterday but they donโ€™t compare to your mountains

Any Thoughts?

