some of the sayings i’ve heard

“don’t ask for stuff, it’s rude.” my mum

“if you don’t ask, you don’t get.” my friend’s mum (my mum’s friend)

“third time lucky.” anon “if some one asks for something three times; that’s officially begging.” a brother of mine

“ask a stupid question, get a stupid answer.” my mum

“the only stupid question is the one you already know the answer to.” an old boss

“isn’t that rhetorical?” me

“stop asking stupid questions.” my old boss

“what’s for dinner?” us kids

“fart pie and windy pudding.” either parent

“no, what’s for dinner?” us kids with an exasperated look on our faces

“shit on a shovel.” either parent, with a silly smile on their face.

9 thoughts on “some of the sayings i’ve heard”

  1. Hahaha! I love the flow of this. And at my house, when the kids ask “what’s for supper?” CJM tells them “Shit on a shingle.” They hate that answer. Lol

    1. Thanks Amy, i must admit i was inspired by your post on “shit my dad used to say.” 🙂
      it struck me how funny and interlocking these quotes can be 🙂
      i love the fact that CJ says Shit on a Shingle, hehehehe, cos people look confused when i tell my daughter we are having shit on a shovel 🙂

            1. go to a restaurant u dont like, wait for a customer and slyly walk over to their table, offering the full three course meal 🙂
              shit on a shovel starter followed by fart pie with a dessert of windy pudding 🙂

Any Thoughts?

